

## **Members of Parliament for Swindon**

The parliamentary constituency of Cricklade was established in 1295 being instigated as a Parliamentary Borough. Until 1885 two Members of Parliament were returned to the House of Commons. Until 1782 the constituency was made up of the eligible voters from the town of Cricklade only. After this date it was extended to include Swindon at this time just a large village. From 1885 the borough constituency was abolished becoming the Sessional Divisions of Cricklade and Swindon still covering the same area but returning just a single MP. In 1918 the Cricklade Constituency was abolished becoming part of the Swindon Constituency which had grown in size rapidly with the coming of the railways.

Parliaments 1783-1885 (with Gaps) - Cricklade with Swindon Borough

Parliament or Election	Surname	Given Names	Title or Status	Party Represented	Notes
Year Date	Sumame				
1784	Adamson	Robert			2nd Member
1859	Ashley		Lord	Liberal	1st Member
1868	Cadogan	Frederick	Honourable	Liberal	2nd Member
1812-1818	Calley	Thomas		Whig	2nd Member; See Note 1. Below
1831-1834	Calley	Thomas		Whig	1st Member
1784	Coxe	Charles Westley			1st Member
1790 & 1794	Estcourt	Thomas			2nd Member
1837	Goddard	Ambrose		Conservative	2nd Member

1847, 1859, 1865 & 1874	Goddard	Ambrose Lethbridge		Conservative	2nd Member
1806 & 1811	Goddard	Thomas			2nd Member
1865, 1868, 1874 & 1880	Gooch	Daniel	Sir	Conservative	1st Member
1818, 1831 & 1835	Gordon	Robert		Whig	2nd Member
1811	Herbert	William			1st Member
1841	Howard	Henry	Honourable	Whig	2nd Member
1835, 1837, 1841 & 1847	Neeld	John		Conservative	1st Member
1785	Nicholas	Robert			2nd Member
1812 & 1818	Pitt	Joseph			1st Member
1794 & 1806	Porchester		Lord		1st Member
1880	Story-Maskelyne	Mervin Herbert Nevil		Liberal	2nd Member
1785 & 1790	Walker-Heneage	John			1st Member

**Note 1. -** Thomas Calley was born in Burderop, Chiseldon on 21st July 1780. He was resident of Salthrop, Wroughton for a period of his life. He was Sherriff of Wiltshire from 1807-1808. He was a Lieutenant in the Wilts Yeomanry in 1801 and served as Cornet to the Marlborough Troop of Yeoman Cavalry in the same year gaining promotion to Lieutenant in 1804 and Captain in 1811 resigning from the corps in 1826. He died of nervous fever at Cannstadt, Württemberg, Germany on 17th September 1836 and was buried at Chisledon on 18 October 1836.

Parliaments 1885-1918 - Cricklade with Swindon County Division

Parliament or Election		Surname	Given Names	Title or	Party	Notes
Year	Date	Surname	Given Names	Status	Represented	Notes
1910	January	Calley	Thomas Charles Pleydell		Liberal Unionist	
1898		Fitzmaurice	Edmond	Lord	Liberal	By-Election
1895		Hopkinson	Alfred		Liberal Unionist	
1892		Husband	John		Liberal	
1910	December	Lambert	Richard Cornthwaite		Liberal	
1885-1886		Maskelyne	Nevil Story		Liberal	As Liberal Unionist in 1886
1906		Massie	John		Liberal	
1918	The constituency was abolished. Cricklade became part of the Swindon Constituency					