Netherhaven Protestation Return of 1641/42

© Wiltshire OPC 2011

The Protestation Returns relate to the years 1641/42, around the start of the Civil War. It was an Oath of loyalty to the King.

The incumbent of each parish was to read the protestation to his parishioners and all men over the age of 18 had to sign the oath but the women were not usually asked to sign.

The Protestation itself runs in the following terms:—

"I (A. B.) doe, in the presence of Almightie God, promise, vow, and protest to maintaine and defend, so farre as lawfullie I may, with my Hfe, power, and estate, the trne Reformed Protestant Religion expressed in the Doctrine of the Church of England, against all Poperie and Popish Innovations within this Realme contrarie to the same Doctrine and according to the dutie of my Allegiance [to] his Ma'ties Royall person, honor, and estate. As also the Power and Privileges of Parliament, the lawfull rights and Liberties of the subject, and every person that maketh this Protestation in whatsoever hee shall doe in the lawfull pursuence of ye same. And to my power, and as farre as lawfullie I may, I will oppose, and by all good waies and meanes indeavor to bring to condigne punishment all such as shall either by Force, Practise, Counsells, Plotts, Conspiracies, or otherwise do anie thing in this present Protestation contained. And further, that I shall in all Just and honorable waies endeavor to preserve ye Union and Peace between the three Kingdomes of England, Scotland, and heland. And neither for hope, feare, nor other respect, reliquish this promise, vow, and Protestation."

John Kinge, vicar

Richard Rumsey, churchward.

Richard Willis, churchward.

John Bayley, *ovseer*

Richard Watridge, *ovseer* Edward Milles

Richard Legge, sen.

Jonathan Hill

Edmond Lake

John Sutton, sen.

John Samuell, sen.

Thorn. Mills

Mathewe Bennett

Willm. Head

Marmaduke Dicke

John Greene, ju.

Wm. Bayley

Richard Burrowe

Robt. Eueridge, sen.

Robt. Eueridge, ju.

Richard Harris

Nathaniell Cooper

John Eueridge

David Euans

John Heme, sen.

Joseph Tooker

John Spratt

Richard Jarvis

Xpofer. Mathewe

Joseph Sutton

Wm. Sutton, sen.

John Batch

Daniel Sutton

Thorn. Baitch, ju.

Wm. Lanchard

Marke Hobbs

Jefferey Williams

Nicholas Cole

Wm. Sutton

Robt. Hatchman

Nathaniell Hatchman

George Williams

Netherhaven Protestation Return of 1641/42

© Wiltshire OPC 2011

Thom. Dolleman, sen.

Thom. Batch Edmond Heme

Beniamyn Hatchman

John Heme, ju. Richard Carter Wm. Vincent

John Sutton, ju.

Henrey Mills Robt. Carter John Batch, sen. Thorn. Tooker John Bunckley

Robt. Fripp John Hatchman Robt. Terrier Wm. Spratt

Leonard Piper Thorn. Doleman, ju. John Samuel, ju. John Draper Mathew Tarrant

Richard Rumsey, ju. Thom. Batch, sen. Jonathan Sheppard

Edmond Rumsey Wm. Alder

Richard Legg, ju. Richard Sutton Tymothy Longe Wm. Barton

Wm. Gwym (sic) Symon Banckes, sen.

John Dovvne
John Rumsey
Richard Weekes
John Worwood
Peter Batch

Mathew Haynes, ju. Thom. Terryer Richard Pinckney

John Collins

Franncis Maton Thom. Wiatt Henrey Browne Richard Harper

Mathewe Watridge, sen.

Mathew Legg Phillipp Harper

Mathewe Watridge, ju.

Leonard Maton
Isaacke Greene
Sylas Gadge
Symon Banckes
Simon Marsh
John West
Henrey Batch
Thom. Dicke
John done
John Bushell
Robt. Morrice
John Collins, sen.
Mathew Hayne, sen.

John Bushell
John Rickets
Richard Heme
Richard Edmonds
Symon Spratt
John Doleman
Robt. Drewe
Robt. Heme
John Hibb't
John Longe

Richard Rumsey, sen.

John King, ju. Wm. Pavis Henrey Bidney Wm. Fessrey Wm. Haynes John Baynger John Bothers Thom. Wilkes Thom. Rickatts

(source: W. N. & Q, Book 7, journal March 1913)